The School will be organized in two courses:

  • G. Del Piero: A variational approach to fracture and other inelastic phenomena
  • E. Presutti: Macroscopic limits in statistical mechanics Lecture notes

In addition to the regular lectures, topical seminars will be held by Jean-Jacques Marigo:

  1. Construction of fatigue laws from cohesive force models: the 2D case
  2. Dynamical effects in the propagation of cracks due to a toughness heterogeneity

Provisional Programme

During the School it will take place the Award Ceremony of the

International prize “Tullio Levi-Civita” for the Mathematical and Mechanical Sciences,

established by the President of the Foundation for the promotion and development of scientific culture “Tullio Levi-Civita”.


The prize winners for 2011 are Professors Jean Jacques Marigo and Eric Carlen.

More information on the Prize and on the winners are available on the web pages of the “Fondazione Tullio Levi-Civita”<